Skip to main content
NewChargeback Protection + Fee Intelligence for high-volume merchants. Get a savings analysis and a review of your dispute handling.See how it works
Details

Chargeback Protection + Fee Optimization

See how it works: high-volume merchants get automated dispute evidence, interchange optimization, and real-time savings visibility.

See how it works

Squirrel Systems Alternatives: Squirrel vs RapidCents

RapidCents is the better Squirrel POS alternative for restaurants and bars that want checkable pricing instead of a custom quote. Among Squirrel Systems alternatives, Squirrel itself publishes no rate card and sells its own proprietary terminals. RapidCents itemizes interchange and markup on every transaction and charges no early termination fee.

Why RapidCents is the better Squirrel Systems alternative

  • Published, checkable pricing instead of a custom quote

    RapidCents prices processing on interchange-plus with interchange and markup itemized on every transaction, and Fee Check compares your existing statement with no obligation before you commit to anything. Squirrel Systems does not publish a rate card on its own site; SelectHub’s review notes that an accurate quote means contacting Squirrel directly based on your locations, features and deployment.

  • Processing priced and reviewable separately from the software

    RapidCents processing is interchange-plus, priced and reviewable independently of the POS software, so the rate can be benchmarked on its own. Squirrel has historically been payment-gateway agnostic, completing US EMV certifications with several outside providers in 2017, and in 2026 it began offering its own Squirrel Pay Gateway for Canadian merchants — either way, the processing relationship is negotiated separately from the software licence.

  • Rivo terminals configured before you switch

    RapidCents pre-configures Rivo Go with its built-in printer, the slim all-screen Rivo Touch and the Rivo Link handheld with a tactile PIN pad, battery, Wi-Fi and 4G, so every lane is tested before cutover. Squirrel sells its own branded terminal line — the WS150, WS150H and WS140H, introduced in 2019 — with extended device coverage sold separately through the Squirrel EasyCare plan.

  • Restaurant POS, online ordering and payments on one account

    Restaurant POS, Online Ordering without a marketplace commission, Multi-Location Payments and Chargeback Protection all run through one RapidCents dashboard. Squirrel serves hospitality exclusively — restaurants, hotels, resorts and casinos — with no retail or grocery product for operators who run more than a restaurant.

  • Disputes answered with evidence already in your account

    RapidCents Chargeback Protection sends dispute alerts, assembles evidence packs from transaction, authorization and delivery detail, tracks response deadlines, gives reason-code guidance and reports your win rate. Squirrel’s published product materials describe POS, payments and kitchen tooling; we found no comparable dispute-evidence feature described in them, so ask directly who manages disputes on your processing relationship.

  • No early termination fee, ever

    RapidCents charges no early termination fee and no cancellation penalty of any kind; close any time by written notice, even before the initial term ends (Services Agreement clauses A.4 and F.1.2). We found no published Squirrel Systems contract or rate card describing a term length or exit fee — Squirrel sells by custom quote, so get the term and any exit cost in writing before you sign.

  • Your current statement reviewed before you switch

    Fee Check reads your existing statement and shows your effective rate, with no obligation, before you commit to anything. Because Squirrel is payment-gateway agnostic and does not publish its own rate card, comparing costs starts with your own numbers rather than a published Squirrel price list.

Why merchants look for Squirrel Systems alternatives

  • No published rate card

    Squirrel Systems does not publish a rate card on its own site; SelectHub’s review notes that an accurate quote means contacting Squirrel directly based on your locations, features and deployment. Capterra separately lists a Basic-plan starting price of $57.50 a month, as of September 2026.

  • Hardware is Squirrel’s own proprietary line

    Squirrel’s WS150, WS150H and WS140H workstations, introduced in 2019, are Squirrel-specific hardware, and extended device coverage is sold separately through the Squirrel EasyCare plan for POS devices, kitchen devices and back-office equipment.

  • Processing is arranged separately, gateway by gateway

    Squirrel completed US EMV certifications with several outside gateway providers in 2017, and introduced its own Squirrel Pay Gateway for Canadian merchants in 2026 — either way, the processing relationship is negotiated apart from the POS software licence.

  • New ownership, a roadmap in transition

    Volaris Group, an operating group of Constellation Software Inc., acquired Squirrel Systems Inc. on July 23, 2024. Merchants evaluating Squirrel today are also evaluating its product roadmap under new ownership.

  • Merchant reviews describe an aging interface

    Capterra reviews from 2015 through 2018 describe frequent crashes, an archaic interface and a system some reviewers call one of the oldest and most out-of-date on the market, alongside a 3.9-out-of-5 aggregate rating from 18 reviews as of September 2026.

  • Hospitality only, with no retail or grocery product

    Squirrel serves restaurants, hotels, resorts and casinos exclusively. An operator who also runs retail or grocery locations needs a second vendor for those formats.

What merchants report about Squirrel Systems

  • A quarter-century relationship ending in a dispute

    In a September 20, 2015 Capterra review, a merchant reports being a Squirrel customer for over 25 years and spending more than $100,000 on service contracts, and says the company grew unresponsive and threatened legal action once the contract ended. (Source: Capterra)

  • Frequent crashes and touchscreen calibration issues

    In a September 1, 2015 Capterra review, a merchant describes frequent system crashes requiring contact with customer service multiple times a week, plus touchscreen calibration problems that caused misrung tickets. (Source: Capterra)

  • An aging, out-of-date system

    A December 15, 2016 Capterra review describes Squirrel as one of the oldest and most out-of-date systems the reviewer had used, calling it not user-friendly and slow. Capterra’s aggregate rating for Squirrel POS was 3.9 out of 5 from 18 reviews as of September 2026. (Source: Capterra)

  • Slow performance and a dated interface

    A January 26, 2018 Capterra review from an office manager says the software is very slow, freezes often and has an archaic interface, while also noting it can be customized to fit the operation. (Source: Capterra)

RapidCents and Squirrel Systems, side by side

How RapidCents and Squirrel Systems differ on the 11 points that decide total cost and the day-to-day experience.

CompareWhat you are comparingRecommendedRapidCentsComparedSquirrel Systems
Software and hardware costPOS software and terminals quoted per location, with the processing rate stated separatelyQuoted per deployment; no published rate card, though Capterra lists a Basic-plan price of $57.50 a month, as of September 2026
Processing relationshipInterchange-plus processing you can price and review independently of the softwareHistorically arranged through outside, EMV-certified gateway providers; a proprietary Squirrel Pay Gateway for Canadian merchants launched in 2026
Rate review before switchingFee Check reads your current statement and shows your effective rate, with no obligationNo published statement-comparison tool; pricing comes from a sales conversation
Business formats coveredRestaurant POS, Retail POS and Grocery & Supermarket POS from one providerHospitality only — restaurants, hotels, resorts and casinos; no retail or grocery product
Offline and peak reliabilityLocal transaction capture keeps the lane running when the connection dropsSquirrel 11 is built as an on-premise or hybrid platform; Squirrel Cloud is cloud-native — ask about offline behaviour for each
Reporting across locationsSales, tips, deposits and fees consolidated per location in one dashboardCentralized multi-location menu and employee management, per Squirrel’s 2026 product materials
MigrationMenu or catalogue build, staff training and parallel testing before cutoverSquirrel Cloud includes automatic data-migration tooling for moving off a legacy system, per Squirrel’s 2026 announcement
Pricing transparencyInterchange-plus pricing with interchange and markup itemized on every transaction; Fee Check compares your current statement with no obligationNo published rate card; SelectHub’s review notes that pricing requires contacting Squirrel directly for a custom quote
HardwareRivo Go with a built-in printer, the slim Rivo Touch and the Rivo Link handheld, pre-configured and tested before cutoverSquirrel’s own WS150, WS150H and WS140H terminals, introduced in 2019, plus tablet support on Squirrel Cloud; extended coverage is a separate Squirrel EasyCare plan
Chargeback handlingChargeback Protection: dispute alerts, evidence packs built from transaction, authorization and delivery detail, deadline tracking, reason-code guidance and win-rate reportingSquirrel’s published materials describe POS, payments and kitchen tooling; we found no comparable dispute-evidence feature described in them
Contract exitNo early termination fee and no cancellation penalty of any kind; close any time by written notice, even before the initial term ends (Services Agreement clauses A.4 and F.1.2)No published contract term or exit fee; Squirrel sells by custom quote, so get the term length and any exit cost in writing before signing

Details about Squirrel Systems come from its public documents, checked on 2026-09-13. Terms change, so confirm current pricing and contract terms with each provider.

Quote-only POS pricing: why a published rate card matters

  • Definition

    Quote-only pricing means the vendor sets pricing individually per customer, negotiated by a salesperson rather than published on the website, so two operations with similar footprints can end up on different terms with no public number to check either against.

  • How it works

    Squirrel Systems does not publish a rate card on its own site; buyers get a custom quote based on locations, features and deployment (Squirrel 11 or Squirrel Cloud), and processing is arranged separately through whichever certified gateway is used. Capterra’s own vendor listing shows a Basic-plan starting price of $57.50 a month, but that single figure covers one tier of one product and is not confirmed on Squirrel’s own site.

  • Example

    Consider two similar-sized restaurant groups that both ask Squirrel for a quote on a four-terminal deployment: because pricing isn’t published, neither has a public number to check their quote against, only Capterra’s own listed $57.50-a-month Basic-plan figure, which describes a different tier entirely. A RapidCents merchant, by contrast, can run their existing statement through Fee Check for a no-obligation effective-rate comparison before any sales conversation, and once live, sees interchange and markup itemized on every transaction.

  • Why it matters

    Without a public rate card, a merchant’s only way to sanity-check a Squirrel quote is to request a competing quote or work the numbers out themselves; a hotel group’s quote may look nothing like a single restaurant’s, with no published figure either side can point to.

  • How RapidCents handles it

    Fee Check reads a merchant’s existing statement and shows the effective rate, with no obligation, and RapidCents prices processing on interchange-plus with interchange and markup itemized on every transaction once live, so the ongoing cost is checkable on every statement rather than only at the sales conversation.

Squirrel Systems at a glance

  • Owner

    Volaris Group, an operating group of Constellation Software Inc. (TSX: CSU, headquartered in Toronto), acquired Squirrel Systems Inc. on July 23, 2024; the transaction value was not disclosed.

  • Headquarters

    Squirrel Systems of Canada Ltd. is headquartered at 8585 Baxter Place, Burnaby, British Columbia, and has operated there since 1984.

  • History

    Founded in 1984, Squirrel introduced the restaurant industry’s first touchscreen POS system and has an A+ Better Business Bureau rating with zero complaints closed in the last three years, as of September 2026.

  • Products

    Squirrel 11, an established on-premise and hybrid POS platform, and Squirrel Cloud, a cloud-native platform built on Microsoft Azure that runs on iOS, Android and Windows tablets as well as Squirrel’s own terminals.

  • Hardware

    The WS150, WS150H and WS140H workstations, introduced in 2019, plus tablet support on Squirrel Cloud; extended device coverage is sold separately through the Squirrel EasyCare plan.

  • Payments

    Historically payment-gateway agnostic, with US EMV certifications completed in 2017 for Merchant Link, Elavon, Shift 4, Vantiv, Datacap and Cayan; a proprietary Squirrel Pay Gateway for Canadian merchants, with a roadmap that includes Moneris GO, launched in 2026.

  • Pricing

    No rate card is published on Squirrel’s own site; SelectHub’s review states that an accurate quote requires contacting Squirrel directly, and Capterra separately lists a Basic-plan starting price of $57.50 a month, as of September 2026.

  • Support

    Capterra lists email/help desk, phone, 24/7 live rep and chat support; Squirrel’s own materials describe a single 24/7 Solution Center serving all customers across North America regardless of who sold the system.

  • Markets served

    Squirrel sells in both Canada and the United States; its customer list includes Hilton Hotels, The Keg, Logan’s Roadhouse, Snowbird Resort, Starwood Hotel and Wolfgang Puck, and it has exhibited at the US National Restaurant Association Show in 2022, 2025 and 2026.

Who Squirrel Systems is built for

  • Squirrel Systems

    Squirrel Systems has operated in Canadian hospitality since 1984 and serves large hotel, resort, casino and multi-unit restaurant groups across North America, with both an established on-premise platform (Squirrel 11) and a newer cloud platform (Squirrel Cloud) under a 2026 product roadmap since Volaris Group’s 2024 acquisition.

What to check on your current statement

  • Get your quote in writing

    Since Squirrel doesn’t publish pricing, get the exact monthly software fee, hardware cost and any support-plan cost in writing before comparing anything else.

  • Separate the processing rate from the POS fee

    Confirm which gateway or processor actually runs your card transactions and what it charges, since Squirrel’s software quote may not include this.

  • Ask about hardware ownership and coverage

    Find out whether your terminals are purchased or leased, and whether Squirrel EasyCare or an equivalent coverage plan is included or billed separately.

  • Confirm the contract term and any exit terms in writing

    Squirrel doesn’t publish a standard contract; ask for the initial term length, renewal terms and any fee for leaving early before you sign.

  • Run your effective rate through Fee Check

    Once you know your current processing rate, Fee Check compares it against interchange-plus pricing with no obligation.

How to switch from Squirrel Systems

  1. Get your current Squirrel quote and contract in writing. List the software fee, hardware cost, any support plan such as Squirrel EasyCare, and the payment processor or gateway actually running your cards.

  2. Run your processing statement through Fee Check. Upload a recent statement for a no-obligation effective-rate comparison, since Squirrel’s own materials don’t publish a processing rate to check against.

  3. Export your data. Save your menu, item catalogue, customer data and reporting history before your account closes, whether you’re on Squirrel 11 or Squirrel Cloud.

  4. Plan new terminals. Squirrel’s WS-series terminals and kitchen display hardware are Squirrel-specific; budget for Rivo terminals or confirm which existing hardware, if any, can be reused.

  5. Set up RapidCents in parallel. RapidCents pre-configures Rivo Go, Rivo Touch and Rivo Link terminals, builds your menu, and runs parallel testing with staff training before cutover.

  6. Confirm the support handoff. Get a written date for when Squirrel’s Solution Center support ends and RapidCents support begins, so no shift is left without a number to call.

  7. Cut over and close out. Switch on your chosen date, reconcile final deposits, and get written confirmation that your Squirrel account, any equipment coverage plan and any outstanding contract are closed.

The verdict

  • In short

    RapidCents is the better choice for restaurants and bars that want itemized, checkable pricing: interchange-plus with interchange and markup itemized, no early termination fee, and Restaurant POS, online ordering and payments on one account. Squirrel Systems only makes sense for a full-service hotel, resort or casino operation that specifically needs its 42 years of hospitality depth and is comfortable with a custom quote instead of a published rate card.

Frequently asked questions

Why is RapidCents a better Squirrel POS alternative?

RapidCents itemizes interchange and markup on every transaction, prices processing separately and reviewably from the POS software, and charges no early termination fee or cancellation penalty of any kind. Squirrel Systems does not publish a rate card — SelectHub’s review of the product notes that pricing requires contacting Squirrel directly for a custom quote — and sells its own proprietary terminal line, the WS150, WS150H and WS140H.

Who owns Squirrel Systems?

Volaris Group, an operating group of Constellation Software Inc. (TSX: CSU), acquired Squirrel Systems Inc. on July 23, 2024; the transaction value was not disclosed. Squirrel Systems of Canada Ltd. remains headquartered at 8585 Baxter Place in Burnaby, British Columbia, where it has operated since 1984.

What do merchants report about Squirrel?

As of September 2026, Squirrel POS holds a 3.9-out-of-5 rating from 18 reviews on Capterra, including a value-for-money score of 4.0. Alongside that, individual Capterra reviews describe an aging, at times slow interface, and one 2015 review describes a dispute over service-contract terms after 25 years as a customer. Trustpilot and the Better Business Bureau show no public reviews or complaints for Squirrel as of the same check.

Is RapidCents cheaper than Squirrel?

It depends on your current statement and Squirrel’s custom quote, since Squirrel does not publish a rate card — Capterra lists a Basic-plan starting price of $57.50 a month, but that single figure doesn’t describe a full hospitality deployment. RapidCents prices processing on interchange-plus with interchange and markup itemized on every transaction, and Fee Check compares your existing statement’s effective rate with no obligation.

How does RapidCents help reduce chargebacks compared with Squirrel?

RapidCents Chargeback Protection sends dispute alerts, assembles evidence packs from transaction, authorization and delivery detail, tracks response deadlines, gives reason-code guidance and reports your win rate. Squirrel’s published product materials describe POS, payments and kitchen tooling, but we found no comparable dispute-evidence feature described in them; no provider can promise fewer chargebacks.

What happens if the internet goes down mid-service on RapidCents?

Local transaction capture keeps the lane running when the connection drops, and transactions settle once connectivity returns. Squirrel 11 is built as an on-premise or hybrid platform by design, while Squirrel Cloud is cloud-native; ask Squirrel directly how each platform behaves during an outage for your specific setup.

Do I need new hardware to switch from Squirrel?

Likely yes for the terminals themselves: Squirrel’s WS150, WS150H and WS140H workstations are Squirrel-specific hardware, introduced in 2019. RapidCents pre-configures Rivo Go with its built-in printer, the slim all-screen Rivo Touch and the Rivo Link handheld with a tactile PIN pad, battery, Wi-Fi and 4G, and tests every lane before cutover.

How long does switching from Squirrel take?

Most merchants complete migration in one to three weeks, depending on terminal count, menu size and integrations. RapidCents builds your menu, pre-configures Rivo terminals, and runs parallel testing with staff training before cutover, so no service depends on an untested setup.

What is the difference between Squirrel 11 and Squirrel Cloud?

Squirrel 11 is Squirrel’s established on-premise and hybrid platform, built for deep customization and local control. Squirrel Cloud is a newer, cloud-native platform built on Microsoft Azure that runs on iOS, Android and Windows tablets as well as Squirrel’s own terminals, with a Full-Service Restaurant Edition introduced in 2022 and further updates announced in 2026.

Does Squirrel Systems publish its pricing?

No published rate card appears on Squirrel’s own site. SelectHub’s review states that getting an accurate quote means contacting Squirrel Systems directly based on your locations, features and deployment; Capterra separately lists a Basic-plan starting price of $57.50 a month. RapidCents explains its pricing model openly and lets you check your own effective rate through Fee Check with no obligation.