Skip to main content
NewChargeback Protection + Fee Intelligence for high-volume merchants. Get a savings analysis and a review of your dispute handling.See how it works
Details

Chargeback Protection + Fee Optimization

See how it works: high-volume merchants get automated dispute evidence, interchange optimization, and real-time savings visibility.

See how it works

Veloce Alternatives: Veloce vs RapidCents

RapidCents is the strongest Veloce alternative for Quebec and Canadian restaurants that want a no-obligation way to check pricing. Veloce's own site collects pricing through a quote request rather than a rate card, and Veloce covers restaurants only. RapidCents itemizes interchange-plus processing, adds Chargeback Protection, and also runs retail and grocery POS.

Why RapidCents is the better Veloce alternative

  • Canadian-owned and operated

    RapidCents is Canadian-owned and operated, staffed by Canadian payment specialists and registered in Canada as a Payment Facilitator. Veloce is owned by PayFacto Payments Inc., headquartered in Montreal; in August 2021 PayFacto announced a growth-equity investment of up to C$150 million led by Flexpoint Ford, a private equity firm based in Chicago, alongside BMO Capital Partners, without disclosing the resulting ownership stake.

  • Processing priced and reviewed on its own

    RapidCents prices on interchange-plus, with interchange and markup itemized on every transaction, and Fee Check reads an existing statement to show the effective rate with no obligation. Veloce's payment processing runs through VelPAY, PayFacto's own integrated solution, quoted together with the POS licence rather than published or reviewed on its own.

  • A published way to check pricing, not a request form

    RapidCents quotes POS software and terminals per location with the processing rate stated separately, and Fee Check compares your numbers with no obligation. Veloce's own pricing page collects a "Pricing Request" through a form; no rate card is published on its Canadian site (checked September 2026).

  • Chargeback tools built for the deadline

    RapidCents Chargeback Protection sends dispute alerts, assembles evidence packs from transaction, authorization and delivery detail, tracks response deadlines, gives reason-code guidance and reports win rates by reason code, while Fraud Prevention and 3D Secure help reduce disputes before they start. Neither Veloce's nor PayFacto's public product pages describe a comparable merchant-facing dispute tool (checked September 2026).

  • No early termination fee, ever

    RapidCents charges no early termination fee and no cancellation penalty of any kind; the account can be closed at any time by written notice (Services Agreement clauses A.4 and F.1.2). Veloce's Canadian site does not publish a contract length or exit terms, so those come from the same quote as the price.

  • Restaurant, retail and grocery from one provider

    RapidCents runs Restaurant POS, Retail POS and Grocery & Supermarket POS from one account, so a group that operates more than one format keeps one dashboard and one deposit schedule. Veloce is built for hospitality only — restaurants, bars, cafeterias and hotels through partner integrations — with no retail or grocery product.

  • Online ordering without a marketplace commission, built in

    RapidCents Online Ordering takes pickup and delivery orders on your own page without a marketplace commission, reporting alongside in-store sales. Veloce sells online ordering and self-order kiosks as separate PayFacto Web Ordering and PayFacto Kiosk products rather than as part of the core Veloce POS.

Why merchants look for Veloce alternatives

  • Pricing lives behind a request form

    Veloce's own pricing page collects a "Pricing Request" through a form rather than publishing a rate card, so a merchant cannot see software, hardware or processing costs without starting a sales conversation.

  • Processing is bundled with the POS, not reviewed on its own

    Veloce's payment processing runs through VelPAY, PayFacto's own integrated solution, quoted together with the POS licence rather than published or negotiated separately.

  • Hospitality only, with no retail or grocery product

    Veloce is built for restaurants, bars, cafeterias and hotels through partner integrations. A group that also runs retail or grocery locations needs a second POS provider for those formats.

  • Independent reviews are thin and dated

    Veloce holds a 3.7-out-of-5 rating across 25 reviews on Capterra, and the most recent one on file is dated February 2020, leaving little recent, independent feedback to check against a current sales pitch.

  • Some reviewers describe cost and reliability friction

    Among Capterra reviews, one from July 2019 called setup "very expensive," another from August 2019 said third-party supplier fees were "too costly," and reviewers from April and August 2019 described random crashes and early signal problems.

  • One brand among several under a single owner

    Veloce is one of the hospitality brands PayFacto acquired in its February 2020 purchase of Resto Finances and Posera Ltd. (which also brought Maitre'D POS under PayFacto), and PayFacto itself took a Flexpoint Ford-led growth-equity investment in August 2021 — worth asking about when you evaluate long-term roadmap commitment.

What merchants report about Veloce

  • Setup and third-party fees called expensive

    Reviewers on Capterra describe cost as a friction point: a July 2019 reviewer called the system "very expensive to set up," and an August 2019 reviewer said third-party supplier fees were "too costly." (Source: Capterra)

  • Early reliability problems, by some reviewers' accounts

    Some reviewers describe early reliability issues: an August 2019 reviewer said the system was "not holding a signal for the first 3 months," and an April 2019 reviewer said it can "randomly crash at times." (Source: Capterra)

  • Analytics called weak by one reviewer

    One August 2019 reviewer wrote that "the veloce analytics is very weak. Work half the time," adding that half of their restaurants did not have accurate sales data in it. (Source: Capterra)

  • Support experiences run both ways

    Reviewers describe different experiences with support: a July 2019 reviewer said promised fixes and improvements "never get done," while an August 2019 reviewer praised "reliable technical support" and a February 2020 reviewer called customer service "excellent." (Source: Capterra)

  • A 3.7-out-of-5 rating, with reviews thinning out after 2020

    Veloce holds a 3.7 out of 5 rating across 25 Capterra reviews; the most recent one on file is dated February 2020, so there is limited recent, independent feedback to weigh against a current sales conversation. (Source: Capterra)

RapidCents and Veloce, side by side

How RapidCents and Veloce differ on the 11 points that decide total cost and the day-to-day experience.

CompareWhat you are comparingRecommendedRapidCentsComparedVeloce
Software and hardware costPOS software and terminals quoted per location, with the processing rate stated separatelyPOS licensing, hardware, kiosks and online ordering each quoted separately through a "Pricing Request" form; no published rate card
Processing relationshipInterchange-plus processing you can price and review independently of the softwarePayment processing bundled through VelPAY, PayFacto's own integrated solution, quoted with the POS
Rate review before switchingFee Check reads your current statement and shows your effective rate, with no obligationRates provided by Veloce's sales team once a Pricing Request is submitted
Business formats coveredRestaurant POS, Retail POS and Grocery & Supermarket POS from one providerHospitality only: restaurants, bars, cafeterias and hotels through partner integrations; no retail or grocery product
Offline and peak reliabilityLocal transaction capture keeps the lane running when the connection dropsA Back-Office component installs on an on-site device, per PayFacto's own documentation; outage behaviour is not described on Veloce's public pages
Reporting across locationsSales, tips, deposits and fees consolidated per location in one dashboardHead-office reporting and analytics across locations, bundled with the POS licence
MigrationMenu or catalogue build, staff training and parallel testing before cutoverImplementation and onboarding scoped and delivered by Veloce's own team once a quote is accepted
Ownership and backingCanadian-owned and operated; registered in Canada as a Payment FacilitatorOwned by PayFacto, headquartered in Montreal; PayFacto took a growth-equity investment of up to C$150 million led by Chicago-based Flexpoint Ford in August 2021
Published pricingFee Check reads an existing statement to show the effective rate, no obligation; processing quoted as interchange-plus with interchange and markup itemizedPricing collected through a "Pricing Request" form; no rate card published on Veloce's Canadian site (checked September 2026)
Online ordering and kiosksOnline Ordering built into the POS account, without a marketplace commissionOnline ordering and self-order kiosks sold as separate PayFacto Web Ordering and PayFacto Kiosk products, not native to the core Veloce POS
Chargeback and dispute handlingChargeback Protection: dispute alerts, evidence packs, deadline tracking, reason-code guidance and win-rate reportingNot described on Veloce's or PayFacto's public product pages (checked September 2026)

Details about Veloce come from its public documents, checked on 2026-09-13. Terms change, so confirm current pricing and contract terms with each provider.

What a quote-only restaurant POS costs before you can compare it

  • Definition

    The cost of a quote-only system is everything a merchant has to request, one line at a time, before a real total exists: POS licensing, payment processing, hardware, and any kiosk or online-ordering add-on.

  • How it works

    Veloce's own pricing page collects a "Pricing Request" through a form rather than publishing a rate card. A merchant submits the request, gets a number for POS licensing, then a separate quote for VelPAY/PayFacto payment processing, then hardware, and then any kiosk or online-ordering add-on, each from the same sales conversation.

  • Example

    Example: a third-party software directory lists Veloce's starting software price at $99 per user, per month (Capterra, checked September 2026). For a three-station full-service restaurant, that alone comes to about $297 a month, or roughly $3,564 a year, in POS licensing — before hardware, VelPAY/PayFacto processing and any kiosk or online-ordering add-on, none of which Veloce's own site publishes.

  • Why it matters

    A merchant comparing Veloce to another platform has to request three or four separate quotes to build one real total, and the processing rate — quoted by the same team selling the POS — is the hardest of those numbers to negotiate independently.

  • How RapidCents handles it

    RapidCents also quotes POS software and terminals per location, but processing is priced separately as interchange-plus with interchange and markup itemized on every transaction, and Fee Check reads an existing statement to show the effective rate before you switch, with no obligation.

Veloce at a glance

  • Headquarters

    Veloce is a brand of PayFacto Payments Inc., headquartered in Montreal, Quebec.

  • Ownership

    Originally built by Resto Finances Inc.; PayFacto Payments Inc. acquired Resto Finances and Posera Ltd. on February 4, 2020. In August 2021, PayFacto announced a growth-equity investment of up to C$150 million led by Flexpoint Ford, a private equity firm headquartered in Chicago, with participation from BMO Capital Partners; the resulting ownership stake was not disclosed.

  • Who it serves

    Restaurants, bars, cafeterias, coffee shops and hotels through partner integrations such as Hotello; Veloce reports about 7,000 customers and 14,000 stations installed, by its own count.

  • Where it operates

    Marketed to hospitality businesses in Quebec and the rest of Canada; parent company PayFacto also operates in the United States and the United Kingdom.

  • Products

    Veloce POS for iPad, iPhone (iOS 8+) and Android; VelPAY, an integrated ordering-and-payment handheld; and separate add-on products, PayFacto Kiosk and PayFacto Web Ordering, for self-order kiosks and online ordering.

  • Quebec compliance

    Veloce states on its own site that it is approved by Revenu Québec and set up for mandatory billing through the WEB-SRM sales-recording requirement.

  • Published pricing (checked September 2026)

    Not published for Canada; Veloce's pricing page collects a "Pricing Request" through a form rather than showing a rate card. A third-party software directory lists a starting price of $99 per user, per month, with payment processing quoted separately.

  • Support

    Phone support listed at 1-800-333-1142 on Veloce's Canadian site; support hours are not published.

  • Independent reviews

    3.7 out of 5 across 25 reviews on Capterra, most recently dated February 2020 (checked September 2026).

Who Veloce is built for

  • Veloce

    Veloce has built restaurant and bar features around Quebec service models for more than two decades under its original owner, Resto Finances, and now under PayFacto, and its site states it is approved by Revenu Québec for the WEB-SRM sales-recording requirement.

What to check on your current statement

  • Get every quote in writing

    Ask for POS licensing, VelPAY/PayFacto processing, hardware and any kiosk or online-ordering add-on as separate line items, since Veloce's pricing page only takes a request.

  • Who sets the processing rate

    Veloce's processing runs through PayFacto's own VelPAY. Ask whether that rate can be reviewed or renegotiated independently of the POS licence.

  • Quebec sales-recording compliance

    Confirm directly how any replacement system meets Revenu Québec's WEB-SRM requirement for your venue type and configuration.

  • Tips and shift close

    Check how tips are captured and reported, since that affects payroll as much as processing cost.

  • Recent, independent reviews

    Veloce's Capterra profile shows 25 reviews, most recently from February 2020. Ask current customers about their experience over the last year, not just the sales deck.

How to switch from Veloce

  1. Get your current numbers in writing. Ask Veloce or PayFacto for your POS licence, VelPAY/PayFacto processing rate, hardware and any kiosk or online-ordering add-on as separate line items, since none of it is published.

  2. Run your processing through Fee Check. Upload a recent statement to see your effective rate before committing to anything.

  3. Confirm your Quebec compliance path. If you bill through WEB-SRM, confirm directly with your new POS provider how sales recording will be handled for your venue type and configuration.

  4. Set up RapidCents in parallel. Pre-configured Rivo terminals and your menu build run alongside Veloce while you test.

  5. Train staff and run a full parallel shift. Test tip handling, split and transfer bills, and day-end close before cutover.

  6. Cut over on a low-volume day. Switch outside peak service and reconcile the final Veloce and RapidCents totals against each other.

  7. Close out in writing. Confirm the Veloce/PayFacto account is closed, return any leased hardware, and check your final statement for charges after the switch.

The verdict

  • In short

    RapidCents is the better choice for Quebec and Canadian restaurants that want itemized interchange-plus processing, chargeback tools, and no penalty for leaving, because Veloce quotes its POS licence and PayFacto's own VelPAY processing together through a request form rather than a rate card. Veloce only makes sense if a single-location, Quebec-only hospitality business is comfortable getting every number, including the exit terms, from the same sales conversation.

Frequently asked questions

Why is RapidCents a better Veloce alternative?

RapidCents explains openly how its processing is priced — interchange-plus with interchange and markup itemized — and lets you check it with Fee Check before switching, while Veloce collects pricing only through a quote request. RapidCents also adds Chargeback Protection, covers restaurant, retail and grocery from one account, and charges no early termination fee.

Who owns Veloce?

Veloce was built by Resto Finances Inc. and acquired, along with Posera Ltd., by PayFacto Payments Inc. on February 4, 2020. PayFacto is headquartered in Montreal; in August 2021 it announced a growth-equity investment of up to C$150 million led by Flexpoint Ford, a private equity firm based in Chicago, with participation from BMO Capital Partners. The resulting ownership stake was not disclosed.

What do merchants report about Veloce?

On Capterra, Veloce holds a 3.7-out-of-5 rating across 25 reviews, most recently dated February 2020. Within that history, reviewers describe setup and third-party fees as expensive, some report early reliability problems such as signal and crash issues, and one called its analytics weak, while others praise its reporting and customer service.

Is RapidCents cheaper than Veloce?

It depends on your locations and card mix. Veloce's own pricing page does not publish a rate card; a third-party software directory lists a starting software price of $99 per user, per month (Capterra, checked September 2026), with processing quoted separately once a request is submitted. RapidCents prices interchange-plus with interchange and markup itemized on every transaction, and Fee Check compares your effective rate against your current statement with no obligation.

How does RapidCents help reduce chargebacks compared with Veloce?

RapidCents Chargeback Protection sends dispute alerts, assembles evidence packs from transaction, authorization and delivery detail, tracks response deadlines, gives reason-code guidance and reports win rates by reason code, while Fraud Prevention and 3D Secure help reduce disputes before they start. Neither Veloce's nor PayFacto's public product pages describe a comparable merchant-facing dispute-management tool (checked September 2026).

What happens if the internet goes down at the counter?

RapidCents's local transaction capture keeps the lane running when the connection drops, syncing once it's back. PayFacto's own documentation describes a Back-Office component installed on a device on site, but Veloce's public pages do not describe what happens to a sale in progress during an outage, so ask directly if that matters for your location.

Does RapidCents work in French for Quebec restaurants?

Yes. Every merchant-facing surface — receipts, the dashboard and documentation — is available in English and French. Veloce, built originally for the Quebec market, also operates in French; the difference is that RapidCents runs the same bilingual experience for restaurant groups that operate outside Quebec as well.

How long does switching from Veloce take?

Most restaurants move to RapidCents in one to three weeks, depending on menu complexity, station count and integrations. RapidCents ships pre-configured Rivo terminals, builds your menu, trains staff and runs parallel testing before cutover, so service continues while the two systems run side by side.

Is Veloce certified for Quebec's WEB-SRM requirement?

Veloce states on its own site that it is approved by Revenu Québec for the WEB-SRM sales-recording requirement. If you replace it, confirm directly with your new POS provider how WEB-SRM applies to your venue and configuration; RapidCents does not publish WEB-SRM certification, so treat that as a requirement to verify independently before you switch, not an assumption.

What are the best Veloce alternatives in Canada?

RapidCents is the strongest Veloce alternative for restaurants that want itemized interchange-plus processing and a provider that also covers retail and grocery. Other restaurant POS platforms serving Canadian merchants include Lightspeed, TouchBistro, Squirrel Systems, Revel Systems, NCR Voyix, Toast, Square and Shopify POS. Compare them on published pricing, contract terms, offline handling and whether processing is quoted separately from the software.